Faith’s Favorite Frights #5

Are you ready to tour the web with Faith’s Favorite Frights? It’s Wednesday, and I’m your undead host, Faith McKay.

Let’s start with a book…

 

People whisper rumors about a family murdered at Ashburn House. They say its old owner, Edith, went mad in the building, and that restless ghosts walk the halls at night.

When Adrienne arrives on the gothic house’s doorstep, all she has is a suitcase, twenty dollars, and her pet cat. She doesn’t know why her estranged Aunt Edith bequeathed Ashburn to her, but it’s a lifeline she can’t afford to refuse.

Adrienne doesn’t believe in ghosts, but it’s hard to rationalize what she sees. Strange messages have been etched into the wallpaper. Furniture moves when she leaves the room. And a grave hidden in the forest hints at a terrible, unforgivable secret.

Something twisted and evil lives in her house, and Adrienne must race to unravel the decades-old mystery… before she becomes Ashburn’s latest victim.

Fans of The Conjuring and Stephen King’s The Shining will love this chilling novel.

Darcy Coates has written a whole catalog of haunted house ghost stories, all of them standalones. The Haunting of Ashburn House caught my eye and while I’m only a little ways in, it seems promising.

Speaking of unpleasant houses, The Guardian came out with a list of Top 10 Horrible Houses in Fiction. What say you, Midnighters? What I like about lists like this, is that it shows how Horror may really own the nightmare, haunted, horror house–but all other genres borrow from horror. People often claim that horror isn’t that popular, but I argue that it’s because they’re not seeing where horror slips into other genres (or gets outright rebranded) or offers inspiration elsewhere.

BuriedDiamond on etsy has these in other colors. A ouija planchette keychain so you’re always prepared… you never know what will come in handy when you’re locked in a haunted house, afterall.

An anatomical heart night light? Yes, please.

This Hocus Pocus shirt is just the cutest.


Oh, god. You’re still here? What more do you want from me? I gave you an anatomical heart for a night light! Go. Creep in the comments. I’ll have more for you next week, you spooky weirdos.

3 comments

Pay your respects.